Saturday, July 22, 2017

Gluten Free Beer

Gluten Free Beer

 

We brew most of our beers to be gluten free. An alternative for making gluten free beer is to brew beer with ingredients other than barley, wheat and rye. Low gluten alternatives include: corn, sorgum, soy, quinoa, rice, potato starch, amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat and chickpea (garbanzo). While you can brew beer successfully with these ingredients, unfortunately it is not the same beer flavor you would get from using malted barley. However some good beers are being made – even by some craft brewers in this category. 

Another option is to brew beer using barley as a base and then use enzymes to break down the gluten in the finished beer to create “gluten reduced” beer. With the correct combination of enzymes you can produce barley beer that contains a level of gluten that is below the sensitivity level for most “gluten free” drinkers. Even better, these enzymes do not significantly affect the flavor of the finished beer.

 

 

Food Truck Hours

Tues . . . . 5-9 PM
Wed . . . . 5-9 PM
Thurs . . . 1-9 PM
Fri . . . . 1-10 PM
Sat . . . .12-10 PM
Sun . . . . 11-7 PM

Independent Brewing Company 2016